leftover paleo sweet potato chili

It was snowy today, so I wanted to make something warm for dinner. I didn’t want to eat the leftovers in my fridge and I wanted to use my crockpot. So I turned the leftovers into a paleo chili or as my kids call it “hamburger soup”. If I say we are having chili my kids won’t touch it with a 50 foot pole, call it hamburger soup and they ask for seconds!

So moving on to the chili. This would be easy to make from scratch without leftovers as well:

For my meat I had leftover ground beef in my fridge. My husband made a pound of meat into a meat sauce and a pound of taco meat over the weekend. I had 2 cups of meat sauce and about 3 of taco meat left. I would say if your going to make this from scratch make a pound of ground meat seasoned with paleo friendly taco seasoning and you’re good to go.

To go with the meat I grabbed my last 3 sweet potatoes  (2 purple/1 orange)
An onion
A clove of garlic
And 2 handfuls of carrot sticks

I cut them all into small pieces and threw them into the crockpot, with all my leftover meat. Then I poured in a 28 oz can of crushed tomato. Then I filled the can about half way with water and used a spatula to mix it with any leftover tomato than poured it into my crock pot.
I cooked it on high for 4 hours.

This tasted good on its own, but if you can have cheese it is good topped with mozzarella or cheddar cheese. (What else would you put on “cheeseburger soup” lol)

Leave a Reply

