almond joy breakfast bowl

I can’t eat eggs without carbs or I get sick. This makes paleo breakfast tricky. I discovered warm banana bowls are a good solution, but the recipies I found left me feeling like I hadn’t eaten all day just an hour later. I have been working on recipes that taste good and are also filling. So I’ll introduce my first creation the Almond Joy Bowl!

Almond Joy Bowl:
This is a great, filling breakfast, as a sweet treat, or when you’re craving that almond joy bar you can’t eat anymore! It took me close to 5 hours to feel even a little hungry again after eating this! I actually skipped having a small snack, pushed back lunch, and barely touched dinner! Because of this I’m treating this recipe as two servings as I felt it prevented me of adding varied nutrients to my day!

Ingredients
2 coined rip bananas
3 tablespoons crushed almond pieces (I was out of almonds and used pecans so any nut would work)
1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
3 tablespoons nut butter (I like Trader Joes new mixed nut butter)
2-3 tablespoons cup unsweetened cocoa/cocao powder (add amount based on how chocolaty you want it to taste)
1/2 tablespoon chia seeds
1/2 cup almond (or coconut) milk 

*you don’t need to use exact measured amounts, when making breakfast bowls I usually just eyeball and pour to the amount I feel like having that moring. So add more or less based on what you want I use these measurements as a middle point. Because I was measuring I may have used more or less ingredients than I normally would.

Put all ingredients in a microwave safe bowl and heat for about 1 minute. Take it out to stir. You will end up with a pudding like consistency if you cook it more because the bananas will melt down. If you prefer less of a pudding consistency add less milk, no chia, and heat it for only a minute total.

Leave a Reply

