crockpot balsamic beef

I’ve never been a huge fan of beef. I’m starting to enjoy it more, but it has to be done right! Another day I will share my beef stew recipe (with paleo and nonpaleo options) it’s close to what my grandpa used to make when I was growing up.

Anyway as I was saying I’m picky about my beef recipes. This is a recipie that is a little high maintenance as far as crock pot meals go, but it is totally worth it!

The sauce is what really makes this dish high maintenance!
For the sauce you will need:
2 cups beef broth (or stock) you will likely need homemade to make it paleo. I have found a canned version (exactly 2 cups) with no sugar, that is also gluten free, but I’m not certain if it would qualify as paleo friendly.
1 cup balsamic vinegar
1 cup tomato puree (or crushed) you can use a jar of pasta sauce as well, but that won’t be paleo friendly
To start you must reduce the broth. To do this put your 2 cups in a sauce pan to boil uncovered until you have boiled it down to about a cup. I don’t measure it to be sure its a cup I just eyeball it to half of what I had before. Turn off your burner and mix in the other ingredients.

Believe it or not reducing the sauce makes a HUGE difference in the flavor of the dish. I let my husband just throw it all in the crockpot without reducing and I can honestly say the difference is insane. The rich flavorful dish turns out bland if you skip it!

Preparing your meat:
This dish works with any size beef chuck because extra sauce is never a problem. I have used anywhere from 5-10 pounds when making this dish.

I rub my beef with my own personal blend of spices using Trader Joe’s everyday seasoning as a base. I add a little extra onion and garlic, as well as sea salt, because unlike the majority of people I suffer from low blood pressure so salt is my friend.

I put some olive oil on a pan and sear the beef before placing it into the crockpot. Pour any grease from your pan into your sauce mixture and heat it until it boils. Pour your heated sauce over the beef in the crockpot and cook on low for 6-8 hours.
Once the beef is done I reduce the sauce a second time and pour it back over my meat to get the most flavor.

**I occasionally add mushrooms with this dish. I don’t like them myself but my husband and oldest daughter like them. If I’m going to make mushrooms I just add them into the pot for the last 20 minutes.

This meat is very versatile. It is great as a topping on a salad, poured over mashed potatoes or pasta (neither of these options is paleo), my husband enjoys it on a sandwich, and I have even caught myself snacking on it straight when I’m hungry. 

This dish is very “adult” my kids don’t mind it, but prefer it fresh from the crockpot without the sauce poured back over it, while all of the adults prefer it with the sauce!

If you have any questions let me know!

Leave a Reply

